About Me – Profile Treatment

The concept I have so far for my video has a very theatrical and cinematic feel, it will be mostly focussed on set design and narration. I will be utilising my locations as much as I can to make a true reflection of myself, which therefore makes the video seem more personal. I will also be focusing quite a lot on mental illness most notably anxiety, which is something I suffer from.

So far I have researched different kinds of shot types and lighting and how they can be used to convey feelings and emotions, which would work well with the theme I have gone with. I have also researched different kinds of ‘About Me’ videos through which I could actually relate to and see what they have done to build an atmosphere and mood which suits them. I have also planned some shots so far and have also started creating sets, one of the ideas I have for one of the locations is to get string and attach pictures of culture and hang them from the ceiling. I have also acquired different types of equipment that could assist me through this project such as a steady-cam mount and props.

My target audience would most likely end up being teenagers (13-25) who also suffer from things like anxiety, as in the video I will be showcasing what it’s like to suffer from anxiety and how I personally try to overcome it.

For this production the style I have gone for focusses a lot on colour. I think instead of telling people what it’s like to be living with anxiety, I’d infer it through the use of action and colour. In this video the two main colours I look at is dark blue and yellow. The blue represents the anxiety I feel and how it affects me and the yellow represents me trying my best to overcome my feelings and anxiety. One shot I really want to make into the final cut is where I’m isolated in a blue lit corridor and slowly bits of yellow confetti begin to slowly fall from the ceiling, which represents me trying to overcome anxiety.

The duration of this video will be around 2-3 minutes, this gives me time to go through everything I want. I will also be filming way more than I need so when it comes to post production I have a variety to choose from.

I think my film would do well in mental health awareness campaigns and festivals, as I think it will show case exactly how some people are feeling therefore it’s relatable.

Leave a comment